top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePsychopomp!TC

1st V ice

Updated: Jun 29, 2020

My eyes are full f ink



The pr cess was supp sed t be painless. I called my m ther t day. Able t type the number with my ne remaining hand. My ph ne is back t fact ry settings. S n I d n’t think it will be there at all.


She did n t kn w wh I was. W rse than that. The call scared her. She didn’t even answer the first time. Unkn wn number! f c urse!



“I have ne s n! ne s n! That’s it. There is n b dy else! There never has been!”



“I think I w uld remember my wn flesh and bl d. Never call here again!”


I must have g ne fr m the ph t graphs there t . I began t fade fr m the nes n my ph ne a few days ag . At h me there’s a big ne in the hallway where the ph ne is. All f ur f us. She must have seen the gap between her and my br ther. That can’t have helped.



The plane tickets and new identity were a dec y f c urse. I never planned t g abr ad. Just f r every ne t think I had. Including y u. A happy delusi n, kinder than the truth.






There are ther things t . Things I had n t anticipated. My h usemates cann t see me.


“This r m has been empty f r tw years!” H w i this even p ssible?!”


“The Landl rds n the ph ne. We we him twelve th usand in rent! H w did we n t

see this?”


The m ney I put aside did n t g thr ugh. It never existed in the first place. I was n t there t earn it.


I am s s rry f r this


Her b k gives me little c mf rt n w. Was this h w it was f r her? It d esn’t seem that way. Her passing was beautiful. She was taken away, n ughted. A life f j y and service and passing t a place where all that remained f her was w rship and her delight in her w rship. I th ught I was being shewn a new way f being, an escape but I have been deceived. N w I cann t be and I cann t escape.


It is all beginning t make sense.


I am standing in the hallway. I d n t kn w h w l ng I have been here. The h use is an empty field, then new, then a ruin, then dust then a field again ver and ver again.




I see families c me and g and c me again. S mtimes they see me. Maybe I will see me t . I am gr wing f rgetful n w. I have been here bef re


...


r have I?


N w I am a thing. Very s n I will be n thing at all


...


I h pe




62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5th Voice

We've come to the end now. All is revealed now. Everything in light, the Future is bright. Stark white. No night. Only light.

bottom of page