top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePsychopomp!TC

3rd Voice

The year is 2020. The year is also 1953. This is also the 29th of December 1948. or is it 2047 - This is the 3rd June 2020. I am here now. I will be there then. I was there then and there again before I was even born.


 

The absent is always there.


Absence: Not being there. Nonexistence. Being gone. Nonbeing. Death. Not showing up. Missing. Loss. Missing out… 


What if a character was always absent? Never there. Could such a character exist and have a voice? Even have a body? What would the body of the absent look like? 

Absurd. But still, if a tree falls in a forest without anyone to hear it, does it make a sound when it hits the ground? Yes. so although the absent is not there, why could they not have a body? Maybe an absent character could have multiple bodies. Maybe all the bodies.

Perhaps the absent is the most universal.

We shall see.





I woke up this morning, or was it yesterday. I am not sure. It does not matter, I wake up every day so the day does not matter. The day does not exist

Anyway, I woke up and I knew I had to be there. They would be waiting for me. Expecting me. They always do. 

Leave me alone. 

They always have. They always will. Will I turn up? Have I ever turned up?

Leave me alone.

It is my duty to be there. To show up. Or at least to try. I have been trying to be there for so long now. It seems to me I have spent my whole existence trying to be there. 

Leave me alone.

And yet, do I make it? Am I ever there? Did I ever make it, even just once? I can no longer remember. It is as if the same day seemed to repeat itself every day. Waking up, knowing I must be there, that I have to, they are expecting me. All my being is striving and trying to summon the energy to be there. I get up, get ready, prepare myself, I am not sure.

Leave me alone.

The absent is never there; always there. 


He is there - He can see them. They cannot. He is invisible to them. Absent. They wait. 

They dance - slowed down, maybe - Frozen in the abyss that separates this world from the other - An unknown world, yet to be discovered, and although impalpable, it is there, bleeding into our life - waiting for us at the end - mirrored in the every move and breath we ever take - a countdown to our end.



100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5th Voice

We've come to the end now. All is revealed now. Everything in light, the Future is bright. Stark white. No night. Only light.

bottom of page